Hey all. I had a question about the fumble play. Even if the call was an incompletion, the ball hit the ground behind the point where Cutler "threw" the ball. Wouldn't that make it a lateral pass and still a fumble? If you watch the highlight of the game here, you can clearly see that the ball is released around the 9 yard line and hits the ground just on the other side of the 10-yard line stripe.
I keep thinking that it shouldn't matter whether the ball was fumbled or incomplete because it was a lateral pass. Is that right? Was the big problem then that it was ruled an incomplete and blown dead as if it were a forward pass? (I looked a bit for a write-up on that, but no luck. All the talk simply seems to be pass/fumble; I can't find anything on the lateral nature of the pass.)