Yesterday on Twitter, I noticed an MHR member ask "Is a tackle on the runningback out the of the Wildcat formation considered a sack." Very good question and not just a simple answer... the answer is maybe!
I asked a friend mine, La'Roi Glover, a Defensive Tackle formerly of the Saints, Cowboys and Rams to explain to me whether it is a sack or not. This is what he told me.
If the Runningback's first move is forward and the ball is tucked then it's considered a rushing attempt and therefor not a sack. If the Runningback's first move is a "dropback" or a rollout with the intent to pass, then it is a sack. Intent is the key, if the Back's initial intent is to run, no sack - if his initial intent is to pass and is tackled in that process, it's a sack.
Against the Broncos, Jarvis Moss was credited with a sack against Ronnie Brown due to the fact that Brown had rolled out to his left and made an attempt to pass the ball, Moss dragged him down and was credited with the sack.
This past week, Knowshon Moreno, out of the "Wild Horses" formation was tackled for a short loss up the middle after the Patriots called a timeout to regroup. That was a tackle for a loss since Moreno made no attempt to pass the ball and his first initial step was forward.
That was a very good question and I hope this helps us understand the rules of the Wildcat! One thing is for sure, when you dedicate your time to this formation like the Dolphins have, it is very tough to stop!