2012 NFL Awards Winners: Manning Wins Comeback Player Of The Year

Mark J. Rebilas-USA TODAY Sports

The award winners will be announced tonight and multiple Broncos have a shot at winning something.

UPDATE: 6:51 MT - Peyton Manning finished second in MVP voting being the only one to receive a vote that did not win. Adrian Peterson was given the award. Manning is a four time league MVP and has now finished second three times.

UPDATE: 6:19 MT - Peyton Manning has received his second award of the evening. He just received the NFL Comeback Player of the Year award. The award comes after Manning missed the entire 2011 season with the Colts and having four neck surgeries before being released and signing with the Broncos. Manning received 31.5 out of 50 votes....(How do you get a half vote....anyone?)

Manning joins Panthers WR Steve Smith as the only two players to receive comeback player of the year and first team all-pro in the same season.

Manning had the following to say about the comeback award.

"I can't tell you how happy I am to be back playing the game of football that we all love so much. I am very grateful to the Broncos organization, coaches, teammates, trainers for allowing me to come back & have a successful season. I can't tell you how thankful I am for so many people. I've thanked them all personally, but I really can't thank them enough family members, doctors, trainers in various teams and colleges - I just thank them all from the bottom of my heart"

Manning had the following to say about the award the FedEx Air Award.

"This is a great honor to win the FedEx Air NFL Player of the Year. The best part about this award is that it's voted on by the fans. That means a great deal. I'm truly honored to win this award

Peyton Manning has also been awarded the FedEx Air Player of the Year award for 2012. Manning was nominated five times for the weekly award and won it in week 17.

Manning started the Pro Bowl for the AFC in his 12th career Pro Bowl appearance. In 2012, Manning passed Dan Marino for second-most wins all time, now only trailing Brett Favre. He also passed Brett Favre for the most three touchdown games of all time.

Manning had 4659 yards with 37 touchdowns and only 11 interceptions. He set team records in TD passes, completions, passing yards and completion percentage and passer rating.

Manning led the team to 11 straight wins to help the Broncos reach a 13-3 record and the number one seed in the AFC.

The other two finalists for the award were Aaron Rodgers and Tom Brady.

Unfortunately, Von Miller came up short in the defensive player of the year category losing to JJ Watt. Von Miller had an incredible year, but JJ Watt had an incredible season and truly earned this accolade. He only received one vote out of 50.

Other award winners:






In This Article

Log In Sign Up

Log In Sign Up

Forgot password?

We'll email you a reset link.

If you signed up using a 3rd party account like Facebook or Twitter, please login with it instead.

Forgot password?

Try another email?

Almost done,

By becoming a registered user, you are also agreeing to our Terms and confirming that you have read our Privacy Policy.

Join Mile High Report

You must be a member of Mile High Report to participate.

We have our own Community Guidelines at Mile High Report. You should read them.

Join Mile High Report

You must be a member of Mile High Report to participate.

We have our own Community Guidelines at Mile High Report. You should read them.




Choose an available username to complete sign up.

In order to provide our users with a better overall experience, we ask for more information from Facebook when using it to login so that we can learn more about our audience and provide you with the best possible experience. We do not store specific user data and the sharing of it is not required to login with Facebook.