More Broncos in the Hall of Fame? It can happen with your help!

Jason Miller

The season is right around the corner. The first cut downs have already happened. Besides the formality of the last preseason game, the only thing going on in football is the countdown to the first game, right? WRONG! Now is the time that the Hall of Fame takes submissions regarding who to consider for induction at the start of next year's preseason. It's time Denver Broncos Linebacker Randy Gradishar, Terrell Davis, Karl Mecklenberg and Steve Atwater get their due.

It all starts with a nomination. Anyone can nominate an eligible player.

Any fan may nominate any player, coach or contributor who has been connected with pro football simply by writing to the Pro Football Hall of Fame. The only restriction is that a player and coach must have been retired at least five years before he can be considered. There is no mandatory retirement period for a contributor before he may be considered. Every nomination of an eligible candidate received will be processed and forwarded to the Hall of Fame's Selection Committee.

To visit the HOF website for more information on how the nomination process work, click here.

In today's hyper digital age of internets and the wi-fi, nothing hits a point home more than a personally written old-school snail mail-type letter. Sure, it takes a little longer and costs you the price of a stamp, but that's a small price to pay to nominate your favorite deserving (and qualified) Denver Bronco.

Here are some suggestions for your letters:

- Nominate a player you are passionate about (familiar with or interested in).

- Do a little research on their career achievements (stats, pro bowls, all pros)

- Think about including salient quotes from notable people (players, coaches, and media) regarding that player.

- Speak to your geographic location, especially if living outside Colorado.

- Avoid negative pronouncements (we know it's easy to fall into) about the Broncos under-representation in the hall. This is most important.

These nominations don't need to be epic, just sincere. Here's the address you should mail them to:

Pro Football Hall of Fame
2121 George Halas Drive NW
Canton, Ohio 44708

Unsure who you want to write about? Here's a list of eligible greats and their selection committee status:

The Dark Ages (1960-1975)

Lionel Taylor, WR [Senior Committee]
Rich Jackson, DE [Senior Committee]
Austin "Goose" Gonsoulin, S [Senior Committee]

The Orange Crush (1976-1980)

Randy Gradishar, ILB [Senior Committee]
Tom Jackson, OLB [Senior Committee]
Billy Thompson, S [Senior Committee]
Louis Wright, CB [Senior Committee]

The Reeves Era (1981-1994)

Dennis Smith, S [Eligible for Standard Selection until 2019]
Karl Mecklenberg, OLB/ILB [Eligible for Standard Selection until 2019]
Dan Reeves, Coach [Eligible for Standard Selection until 2028]

The Shanahan Age (1995-Present)

Steve Atwater, S [Eligible for Standard Selection until 2024]
Terrell Davis, RB [Eligible for Standard Selection until 2027]

It's time we got another representative in the hall. Let's make it happen and do Broncos Country proud.

Log In Sign Up

Log In Sign Up

Forgot password?

We'll email you a reset link.

If you signed up using a 3rd party account like Facebook or Twitter, please login with it instead.

Forgot password?

Try another email?

Almost done,

By becoming a registered user, you are also agreeing to our Terms and confirming that you have read our Privacy Policy.

Join Mile High Report

You must be a member of Mile High Report to participate.

We have our own Community Guidelines at Mile High Report. You should read them.

Join Mile High Report

You must be a member of Mile High Report to participate.

We have our own Community Guidelines at Mile High Report. You should read them.




Choose an available username to complete sign up.

In order to provide our users with a better overall experience, we ask for more information from Facebook when using it to login so that we can learn more about our audience and provide you with the best possible experience. We do not store specific user data and the sharing of it is not required to login with Facebook.