clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Surprise!! Kyle Johnson, Jimmy Kennedy Among Broncos Cut

The Denver Broncos on Saturday made several transactions to reduce their roster to the 53-man limit, Head Coach Mike Shanahan announced.

The club waived 21 players and moved defensive end Kenny Peterson to its reserve/suspended list. Peterson will miss the first four games of the regular season.

Beginning Sunday, the Broncos can establish a practice squad of up to eight players.

The following 21 players were waived by the Broncos on Saturday:

Player                                     NFL Exp.               College                            
G Emmanuel Akah                        1                      Winston-Salem State
CB Bill Alford                                 1                      Vanderbilt
DL John Browning                        12                     West Virginia
S Steve Cargile                             3                      Columbia
C Greg Eslinger                             2                      Minnesota
G Mark Fenton                               R                     Colorado
QB Darrell Hackney                      1                      Alabama-Birmingham
DT Steven Harris                          R                     Florida
LB T.J. Hollowell                            3                      Nebraska
CB Kevin House                            4                      South Carolina
FB Kyle Johnson                           5                      Syracuse
DT Jimmy Kennedy                       5                      Penn State
WR Glenn Martinez                       2                      Saginaw Valley State
G Kevin McAlmont                         1                      Western Carolina
WR Marquay McDaniel                 R                     Hampton
WR Quincy Morgan                       7                      Kansas State
T Chad Mustard                             4                      North Dakota
QB Preston Parsons                     3                      Northern Arizona
S Roderick Rogers                       R                     Wisconsin
LB Cameron Vaughn                     1                      Louisiana State
T Cliff Washburn                           1                      The Citadel

Breakdown by position --

Quarterbacks: Darrell Hackney, Preston Parsons.
Fullbacks: Kyle Johnson.
Running Backs: None.
Wide Receivers: Glenn Martinez, Marquay McDaniel, Quincy Morgan.
Tight ends: None.
Offensive linemen: Emmanuel Akah, Greg Eslinger, Mark Fenton, Kevin McAlmont, Chad Mustard, Cliff Washburn.
Defensive linemen: John Browning, Steven Harris, Jimmy Kennedy.
Linebackers: T.J. Hollowell, Cameron Vaughn.
Safeties: Steve Cargile, Roderick Rogers.
Cornerbacks: Bill Alford, Kevin House.