clock menu more-arrow no yes

Filed under:

Zimmerman, Gradishar Move On As Hall Finalists

New, comments

Will I be making the 1 hour drive southeast to Canton, OH this summer?  The answer to that question just got a bit clearer with the announcement that two former Broncos have made the list as Hall of Fame Finalists.  OT Gary Zimmerman and LB Randy Gradishar were announced as 2 of the 17 finalists for the 2008 Class, which will be announced Super Bowl weekend.  One name not on the finalist list is Terrell Davis, who made the finalist group last year.  

The rest of the finalists include --

Listed alphabetically, the 17 finalists with their positions, teams, and years active follow:

Cris Carter - Wide Receiver - 1987-89 Philadelphia Eagles, 1990-2001 Minnesota Vikings, 2002 Miami Dolphins
Fred Dean - Defensive End - 1975-1981 San Diego Chargers, 1981-85 San Francisco 49ers
Richard Dent - Defensive End - 1983-1993, 1995 Chicago Bears, 1994 San Francisco 49ers, 1996 Indianapolis Colts, 1997 Philadelphia Eagles
Marshall Goldberg - Back - 1939-1943, 1946-48 Chicago Cardinals
Randy Gradishar - Linebacker - 1974-1983 Denver Broncos
Darrell Green - Cornerback - 1983-2002 Washington Redskins
Russ Grimm - Guard - 1981-1991 Washington Redskins
Ray Guy - Punter - 1973-1986 Oakland/Los Angeles Raiders
Bob Kuechenberg - Guard - 1970-1984 Miami Dolphins
Randall McDaniel - Guard - 1988-1999 Minnesota Vikings, 2000-2001 Tampa Bay Buccaneers
Art Monk - Wide Receiver - 1980-1993 Washington Redskins, 1994 New York Jets, 1995 Philadelphia Eagles
Andre Reed - Wide Receiver - 1985-1999 Buffalo Bills, 2000 Washington Redskins
Paul Tagliabue - Commissioner - 1989-2006 National Football League
Derrick Thomas - Linebacker - 1989-1999 Kansas City Chiefs
Emmitt Thomas - Cornerback - 1966-1978 Kansas City Chiefs
Andre Tippett - Linebacker - 1982-1993 New England Patriots
Gary Zimmerman - Tackle - 1986-1992 Minnesota Vikings, 1993-97 Denver Broncos

While Zimmerman would be great, and he is certainly deserving, he spent a majority of his career with the Vikings.  Gradishar is the one I am really hoping for.  FOrget the fact that he is completely deserving of the honor(imagine if he had played on the 70's Steelers for instance), Gradishar spent his entire career with the Broncos and was dominant.  Oh, and he went to Ohio State, which gets him extra points in my book!

If anyone out there reading this has the opportunity to get to a Hall voter, please make this the year that two grave injustices are corrected.  Make it three.  One damn Hall of Famer in the hostory of the Broncos??  Please!

I really want to go back to the Hall of Fame.  Hopefully this is the year I'll get the chance.

You can see more of Gradishar's credentials for Hall inclusion here -- Gradishar For The Hall!!!