clock menu more-arrow no yes

Filed under:

Champ Bailey wins Broncos' Walter Payton Man of the Year Award

New, comments

The Denver Broncos selected cornerback Champ Bailey as their Walter Payton NFL Man of the Year award recipient for the second consecutive year, it was announced. This prestigious award historically recognizes a player for outstanding leadership both on the field and in the community.

Bailey's name will be submitted to the NFL as the Broncos' nominee for the national Walter Payton NFL Man of the Year award, which is announced annually at the Super Bowl. He was selected by a committee of representatives from various business departments within the Broncos' organization and Stadium Management Company from a group of finalists that included tight end Daniel Graham, tackle Ryan Harris and outside linebacker/defensive end Darrell Reid.

Bailey was honored for his years of service supporting the Denver Rescue Mission and most notably the Broncos Youth Center located at its Crossing Facility, which provides long-term rehabilitation and transitional housing. The 11th-year player and eight-time Pro Bowl choice will receive a $10,000 donation from the Broncos toward a charitable cause of his choice.

Graham, Harris and Reid also will receive $2,000 donations toward a charitable cause of their choice.

Additionally, the organization honored several other players for their work in the community. Safeties Josh Barrett and David Bruton, tackle Ryan Clady, cornerback D.J. Johnson, defensive lineman Kenny Peterson, tight end Tony Scheffler, cornerback Jack Williams and inside linebacker Wesley Woodyard were named Denver Broncos Community Ambassadors in recognition of their "up-and-coming" community leadership.

Recent Broncos nominees for the Walter Payton NFL Man of the Year award include Bailey (2008), cornerback Domonique Foxworth (2007), wide receiver Rod Smith (2006 and '04), safety John Lynch (2005), linebacker Ian Gold (2003) and wide receiver Ed McCaffrey (2002).

 Quarterback John Elway (1992) is the only Broncos player to win the national award, which was first given in 1970 and renamed after the Chicago Bears' Pro Football Hall of Fame running back in 1999.