clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Broncos Name 2010 Team Captains

The Denver Broncos on Wednesday named their team captains for the 2010 season, Head Coach Josh McDaniels announced.

The following players were voted as team captains by their teammates:

CB Champ Bailey - The longest-tenured player on the Broncos (seventh season with the team), he is tied for the most Pro Bowl selections (9) in NFL history at the cornerback position and was named to the NFL's All-Decade Team for the 2000s as chosen by the Pro Football Hall of Fame Selection Committee.

S Brian Dawkins - In his second year with the Broncos, he was a 2000s NFL All-Decade Team selection (as chosen by the Pro Football Hall of Fame Selection Committee) and is tied for the third-most Pro Bowl selections (8) at the safety position in NFL history.

TE Daniel Graham - In his fourth year with the Broncos in 2010, he has participated in 78 wins for his NFL career that rank third among league tight ends since his rookie season in 2002.

OL Chris Kuper - The longest-tenured player on Denver's offensive line, he has allowed just six sacks in 42 career starts (31 at right guard, 11 at left guard) according to Stats Inc.

QB Kyle Orton - Set career highs in nearly every passing category in 2009 - his first season with the club - while tying for the most games (10) in franchise history with a 90.0 passer rating and totaling the 12th-most passing yards (3,802) by a player in NFL history in his first year with a team.

LB D.J. Williams - Has started at least 11 games in each of his six NFL seasons (all with Denver) and ranks second in the AFC (sixth in the league) in tackles per game (8.3) during the last three seasons according to press box statistics.

LB Wesley Woodyard - A team captain for the second consecutive season in just his third year in the NFL after joining the club as a college free agent, he has totaled the most special-teams tackles (20) on the club since his rookie year in 2008.