clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Broncos Tebow Nominated for Never Say Never Award (Again)

Getty Images

Okay, this is beyond funny, past coincidence and just plain ridiculous. Denver Broncos Quarterback Tim Tebow has been nominated yet again for the GMC Never Say Never Moment of the Week award put on by the NFL. This time I am going to insist that they rename this award after Tebow.

After being nominated in Week 5, Tebow won this weekly GMC sponsored NFL award after Week 7 and then again after Weeks 10, 11 and 12. Tebow was nominated once more last week, but lost out to Green Bay Quarterback Aaron Rodgers and the 13-0 Packers.

That makes 4 of the possible 13 awards have been given to Tim Tebow. Let's exrapolate that a bit further. Considering Tebow didn't start for the Broncos until Week 7, that means he's been a nominee six out of the seven possible times and won 4 of those. If that doesn't prove my point from last week when I stated that the league should rename this award after the Broncos Quarterback, then GMC ought to.

This week Tebow is up against Houston Texans Quarterback T.J.Yates and New York Giants Quarterback Eli Manning.

Yates led the Texans on an 80 yard drive and threw the game-winning pass to Wide Receiver Kevin Walter with just two seconds remaining. The drive began after the 2 minute warning and the Texans didn't have any timeouts left. The victory earned Houston its first playoff berth in franchise history.

Manning brought the Giants back from a 34-22 deficit, using 2 touchdown drives and a last second blocked Field Goal by Defensive End Jason Pierre Paul.

Vote Here for the GMC Never Say Never Moment of the Week.

Go Broncos!