Help Get More Denver Broncos into the Pro Football Hall of Fame!

We within the MHR HOF Committee are still celebrating the eminent induction of Shannon Sharpe and have begun the process of organizing our efforts for this year (more to come on that soon).  For the past couple years, we've had the "luxury" of having Sharpe looming large in the landscape of HOF nominees.  Now that he's getting measured for his yellow jacket,  we need to make sure deserving Broncos get nominated.  

Below is how the public can nominate someone. 

Any fan may nominate any player, coach or contributor who has been connected with pro football simply by writing to the Pro Football Hall of Fame. The only restriction is that a player and coach must have been retired at least five years before he can be considered. There is no mandatory retirement period for a contributor before he may be considered. Every nomination of an eligible candidate received will be processed and forwarded to the Hall of Fame's Selection Committee.

To find out more on how the process works, go here

We need your help.  We are asking you to nominate your favorite deserving (and qualified) player.  In today's hyper digital age of internets and the wi-fi, we've found that nothing hits home a point more than a personally written old-school snail mail type letter like this (but slightly bigger):Smallest_postal_service_10_medium

Here are some suggestions for your letters:

- Nominate a player you are passionate about (familiar with or interested in).

- Do a little research on their career achievements (stats, pro bowls, all pros)

- Think about including salient quotes from notable people (players coaches and media) regarding that player.

- Speak to your geographic location, especially if living outside Colorado.

- Avoid negative pronouncements (we know it's easy to fall into) about the Broncos under-representation in the hall. (This is most important).

These nominations don't need to be epic, just sincere.  Here's the address you should mail them to:

Pro Football Hall of Fame
2121 George Halas Drive NW
Canton, Ohio 44708

Unsure who you want to write about?  Here's our master list of eligible greats and their selection committee status: 

The Dark Ages (1960-1975)

Lionel Taylor, WR [Senior Committee]
Rich Jackson, DE [Senior Committee]
Austin "Goose" Gonsoulin, S [Senior Committee]

The Orange Crush (1976-1980)

Randy Gradishar, ILB [Senior Committee]
Tom Jackson, OLB [Senior Committee]
Billy Thompson, S [Senior Committee]
Louis Wright, CB [Senior Committee]

The Reeves Era (1981-1994)

Dennis Smith, S [Eligible for Standard Selection until 2019]
Karl Mecklenberg, OLB/ILB [Eligible for Standard Selection until 2019]
Dan Reeves, Coach [Eligible for Standard Selection until 2028]

The Shanahan Age (1995-Present)

Steve Atwater, S [Eligible for Standard Selection until 2024]
Terrell Davis, RB [Eligible for Standard Selection until 2027]

Let's work together to get Broncos into the hall!  


This is a Fan-Created Comment on The opinion here is not necessarily shared by the editorial staff of MHR.