clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Denver Broncos Release First Official Depth Chart of 2011


The first couple weeks of camp are over and the first preseason game is this Thursday at Dallas against the Cowboys. With new coaching and management in the organization, there has been lots of turnover for the team. Some positions are cemented for players like Dumvervil and Bailey but other spots, there will be battles, like the receiver and linebacker position. Keep in mind that this is the first depth chart released and plenty of these players will not be with the team come start of the season. Several more charts will be released.

What we can take from this is who's stock is rising and who's is falling. I am wondering how much playing time the first team will get in the game against the Cowboys. Usually the starters only play a couple possessions but because of the lockout, I wonder if there will be a bit more playing time making it harder for the younger guys to make an impact. The rookies are the players most impacted by the lockout.

 Take a look at the first depth chart of the 2011

Denver Broncos






QBS - Kyle Orton, Tim Tebow, Brady Quinn

FBS - Spencer Larsen, Austin Sylvester

RBS - Knowshon Moreno, Willis McGahee, Lance Ball, Lendale White, Jeremiah Johnson, Brandon Minor, C.J Gable

WR 1 - Brandon Lloyd, Matthew Willis, Eron Riley, D'Andre Goodwin, Demaryius Thomas

WR 2 - Eddie Royal, Eric Decker, David Anderson, Britt Davis, Mark Dell, Jamel Hamler

TE - Daniel Fells, Richard Quinn, Dan Gronkowski, Dante Rosario, Julius Thomas, Virgil Green

LT - Ryan Clady, Chris Clark, Adam Grant

LG - Zane Beadles, Stanley Daniels, Shawn Murphy

C - J.D. Walton, Manny Ramirez, Jeff Byers

RG -  Chris Kuper, Russ Hochstein, Eric Olsen

RT - Orlando Franklin, Herb Taylor, Curt Porter


RDE - Elvis Dumervil, Derrick Harvey, Jeremy Beal

DT - Kevin Vickerson, Marcus Thomas, Mitch Unrein, Ronnell Brown

NT - Brodrick Bunkley, Ty Warren, Ryan McBean, Louis Leonard

LDE - Robert Ayers, Jeremy Jarmon, Jason Hunter, David Veikune

SLB - Von Miller, Lee Robinson, Mike Mohammed, Derek Domino

MLB - Joe Mays, Mario Haggan, Nate Irving, A.J. Jones

WLB - D.J. Williams, Wesley Woodyard, Braxton Kelly, Deron Mayo

RCB - Andre Goodman, Nate Jones, Syd'Quan Thompson, Brandon Bing

LCB - Champ Bailey, Cassius Vaughn, Perrish Cox, Chris Harris

SS - Brian Dawkins, Kyle McCarthy, Quinton Carter

FS - Rahim Moore, Darcel McBath, David Bruton




K - Matt Prater, Steven Hauschka

P - Britton Colquitt, Matt Prater

LS - Lonie Paxton, Chris Kuper

PR - Eddie Royal, Syd'Quan Thompson, David Anderson

KR - Cassius Vaughn, Lance Ball, David Anderson

Not much for surprises. Interesting to see Rahim Moore is the starting Free Safety. Tim Tebow is the number two. Some people were worried he would go down to number three. Another battle was Moreno vs McGahee but it will be a tandem system anyways running the ball and is good to see that Knowshon is in much better shape then previous years. Another notable is Perrish Cox playing on the third team after being the third string guy last season.