clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

On This Day in Broncos History: September 13


September 13, 1999 - from the Denver Broncos official website: Quarterback John Elway (1983-98) was inducted into the Ring of Fame in 1999 in a ceremony held at halftime of the Broncos' season-opening Monday Night Football game vs Miami . . . As a testament to the legend he established during his 16-year career, Elway is the only inductee for whom the customary five-year waiting period.

The Ring of Fame which circles the Broncos' stadium was created by Pat Bowlen in 1984. It's current membership is comprised of: S Goose Gonsoulin (1960-66), DE Rich Jackson (1967-72), RB Floyd Little (1967-75), WR Lionel Taylor (1960-66), Owner Gerald Phipps (1961-81), DE Paul Smith (1968-78), QB Charley Johnson (1972-75), QB Frank Tripucka (1960-63), S Bill Thompson (1969-81), QB Craig Morton (1977-82), WR Haven Moses (1972-81), K Jim Turner (1971-79), LB Randy Gradishar (1974-83), LB Tom Jackson (1973-86), S Louis Wright (1975-86), LB Karl Mecklenburg (1983-95), S Dennis Smith (1981-94), OT Gary Zimmerman (1993-97), S Steve Atwater (1989-98), RB Terrell Davis (1995-2001), TE Shannon Sharpe (1990-99, 2002-03), WR Rod Smith (1994-2006)

Birthdays: DT Ronald Fields (2009-10) is 31. QB John Hufnagel (1974-75) is 61.