clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

NFL Hall Of Fame 2013: Broncos Shut Out Of Hall Of Fame Finalist List

The Pro Football Hall Of Fame released their list of 17 finalists with no former Denver Broncos among the list.

Timothy T. Ludwig-USA TODAY Sports

The Pro Football Hall of Fame listed released their 17 finalists for the Class of 2013 on Friday. The results? No Denver Broncos were among the names.

For four former Broncos - Terrell Davis, John Lynch, Karl Mecklenburg, Steve Atwater - that means another year of waiting. For Broncos fans, another year to be frustrated with the process.

Things have gotten better for the Broncos in recent years with the induction of Floyd Little and Shannon Sharpe but compared to other teams the lack of representation by the Broncos in Canton borders on laughable.

Four first-year eligible nominees - Larry Allen, Jonathan Ogden, Warren Sapp, and Michael Strahan - are among the 15 modern-era finalists who will be considered for election to the Pro Football Hall of Fame when the Hall's Selection Committee meets in New Orleans, La. on Saturday, Feb. 2, 2013.

Joining the first time nominees are some familiar names:

RB Jerome Bettis, WR Tim Brown, WR Cris Carter, DT Curley Culp, Former 49ers owner Eddie DeBartolo, former Browns/Ravens owner Art Modell, LB Kevin Green, DE/LB Charles Haley, Bill Parcells, WR Andre Reed, LB Dave Robinson, G Will Shields, DB Aeneas Williams.

The biggest surprise has to be Lynch who I assume will eventually make it to the Hall someday. He'd likely go in as a member of the Tampa Bay Buccaneers, however.

For Davis, Atwater and Mecklenburg the wait continues - which says nothing about the biggest travesty of them all Randy Gradishar.