clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Broncos Pro Bowl 2015: Denver boasts NFL-high nine players

Nine Broncos players have been selected to the 2014 Pro Bowl, the most in the NFL and the second most in team history

Ron Chenoy-USA TODAY Sports

The rosters for the Pro Bowl have been released, and the Broncos top the NFL with nine players selected; four on offense, and five on defense. Nine selections also ties the franchise record for the second most selected in history.

QB Peyton Manning was selected at quarterback to his 14th Pro Bowl, and led the NFL fan vote up until last week when Aaron Rodgers passed him. Manning is a 5 time NFL MVP and has completed 374-of-560 passes (66.8%) for 4,454 yards with 39 touchdowns and 15 interceptions (102.9 QBR) this season.

Ryan Clady was selected to his 4th Pro Bowl in his 6th year in the league. He was the fourth offensive lineman in history to make 3 pro-bowls in his first 5 seasons in the NFL, and is now the only offensive tackle in Broncos history to be selected to 4 Pro Bowls. Under Clady's protection, the Broncos have allowed the fewest sacks in the NFL this season.

The Thomases, Demaryius Thomas and Julius Thomas, were both selected at wide receiver and tight end. This is Demaryius Thomas' third straight Pro-Bowl, which comes after making history last night agains the Bengals in his third consecutive 1400+ yard season. He is currently third in the league for receiving yards, behind Antonio Brown and Julio Jones. Julius Thomas was elected to his second Pro Bowl after breaking into the spotlight last season. He is the first tight end in NFL history to record 12+ touchdowns in consecutive seasons. He is just the third tight end in history to make multiple Pro Bowls, joined by Shannon Sharpe and Riley Odoms. Both Thomases are set to be free agents at the end of the season.

On Defense LB Von Miller was selected to his 3rd Pro Bowl, ranking 7th in the league for sacks this season, which have been split by defensive end DeMarcus Ware selected to his 8th Pro Bowl (ranking 13th for sacks this season). Safety T.J Ward was selected to his second Pro-Bowl.

Cornerbacks Aqib Talib and Chris Harris Jr. were both selected. Harris was selected to his first Pro-Bowl after signing as a free agent in 2011 and making a name for himself this season, ranking second in the league for QBR against him (47.3 PFF). He is only one of six undrafted cornerbacks in history to make the Pro Bowl under his original team. Aqib Talib joins him in his second Pro Bowl after leading the team in interceptions and passes defensed this season. Talib was signed as a free agent in the 2014 off-season after playing with the Patriots.

Safety T.J. Ward rounded out the Broncos' Pro Bowl roster, his second selection in two years and first with the Broncos.

Pro Bowl snubs - Of note, Terrance Knighton (Pot Roast) was not selected. David Bruton also was not selected after finished 4th for special teams among fan votes. Guards Louis Vasquez and Orlando Franklin were also voted 3rd and 4th by fans and were not selected. Emmanuel Sanders was not chosen as a wide reciever after finishing 7th in fan vote and ranking 6th in the league for receiving yards this season (pretty impressive considering he is sharing those with the Thomases and Wes Welker).

Of the Broncos' nine Pro Bowl selections, seven of them were drafted or signed by John Elway during the last three years. Needless to say, he has a lot to celebrate.