clock menu more-arrow no yes

Filed under:

Harris Jr. gets 'sportmanship and courage' award by Broncos

New, comments

The No. 1 cornerback by Pro Football Focus' stats (and Broncos fans everywhere) has added another honor - the Ed Block Courage Award.

Doug Pensinger/Getty Images

Chris Harris Jr. is a stud. We all know that.

Sportsmanship and courage pretty much sums up CHJ's career so far. Well, that and all-around badass in coverage.

So does his team.

The Denver Broncos named the undrafted cornerback as its 2014 Ed Block Courage Award winner, which honors players who exemplify sportsmanship and courage.

That pretty much sums up Harris Jr's career so far.

Well, that and "all-around badass in coverage."

Harris Jr., who suffered a torn ACL in Denver's AFC divisional playoff game last season, returned on fire in 2014.

Among his long list of accomplishments this season:

  • 55 tackles (51 solo)
  • 3 interceptions for a total 52 yards
  • Team-high 18 passes defensed
  • 1 sack for a two-yard loss
  • 1 one fumble recovery

The cornerback out of the University of Kansas also earned the distinction of being the No. 1 CB by Pro Football Focus. He was first in the NFL this season with a 47.8 quarterback rating against him, according to PFF, and did not allow one touchdown scored on him this season.

Let's highlight that again - NOT ONE TOUCHDOWN WAS SCORED ON HIM.

In 63 career regular-season games (47 starts), Harris Jr. has totaled 246 tackles (216 solo), 10 interceptions (212 yards), 47 passes defensed, 3.5 sacks (19.5 yards), one forced fumble and one fumble recovery. He owns 18 tackles (12 solo) and five passes defensed in four postseason appearances (3 starts).

The Ed Block Courage Award is named in honor of Ed Block, the longtime head athletic trainer of the Baltimore Colts, who was a pioneer in his profession and a respected humanitarian.

Recipients are selected by their teammates for exceptional courage, great character and inspiring effort.

Harris Jr. joins a distinguished list of Broncos who have earned this award, including Tom Nalen, Terrell Davis, John Mobley, Rod Smith, Steve Atwater, Ed McCaffrey and John Elway.

Congrats to the No. 1-ranked cornerback!