clock menu more-arrow no yes

Filed under:

Former Buccaneers and Broncos safety John Lynch snubbed from Hall of Fame voting

New, comments

Another year, another former Denver Broncos left out of the Pro Football Hall of Fame.


The NFL announced the 2014 Pro Football Hall of Fame class on Saturday evening.

The class includes: Ray Guy, Claude Humphrey, Derrick Brooks, Walter Jones, Michael Strahan, Andre Reed, Aeneas Williams. One notable omission is former Denver Broncos and Tampa Bay Buccaneers safety John Lynch, who was among the finalists.

Amazing, a punter (Ray Guy) made the cut. If nothing else, perhaps that means there is still hope for Terrell Davis.

Lynch was drafted in the third round of the 1993 draft by Tampa Bay and went on to play eleven seasons with the Buccaneers, winning a Super Bowl ring (XXXVII) in 2003. The next offseason, Lynch signed with Denver.

Lynch spent the final four seasons of his career with the Broncos, helping them reach the 2005 AFC Championship game (played in 2006). While the Broncos were unable to reach the Super Bowl while Lynch was on the roster, he played a key role on the team's dominant defensive unit in 2005.

Known for his hard-hitting style of play, Lynch would probably not be allowed to play in today's NFL, but that's what made him so fun to watch.

Lynch joins Davis, Steve Atwater, and Randy Gradishar on the list of former Broncos that have been snubbed by the Hall of Fame voting process. Just like those who have gone before him, he'll have to wait another year.