clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Broncos roster cuts total seven heading into Saturday

The Denver Broncos have made a number of roster cuts Friday, moving toward their 53-man roster, according to reports.

Matthew Emmons-USA TODAY Sports

The Broncos have yet to announce any cuts, and likely won't until Saturday when all moves are complete. Below are the cuts that have been reported by the Denver Post and ESPN.

The cuts

  • Linebacker L.J. Fort
  • Defensive tackle Sione Fua
  • Cornerback Jerome Murphy
  • Cornerback Jordan Sullen
  • Offensive lineman Ryan Miller
  • Tight end Cameron Morrah
  • Tight end Jameson Konz

Sione Fua had a strong training camp and could find himself on an NFL roster. He's a free agent and doesn't need to move through the waiver process. Morrah had three catches in Denver's preseason finale and could also get a look.

A Mile High Salute to all seven!

What's next

Current roster size: 68

Cuts remaining: 14

The deadline: Saturday 2 p.m. MDT

The Broncos must whittle down their roster to 54 men by Saturday, August 30th, at 2:00 p.m. MDT. Why 54 instead of 53? Matt Prater's suspension. Prater won't count against the Broncos roster limit and will instead be placed on their suspended list when the deadline arrives.

Depth chart projection

This is not the official depth chart; this is our projection. Player movements denoted in this depth chart represent changes from our previous depth chart, not the Broncos' official depth chart.

Offense (24)

Peyton Manning
Brock Osweiler
Zac Dysert

Running Back
Montee Ball
Ronnie Hillman
Juwan Thompson
Kapri Bibbs (new)

Wide Receiver
Demaryius Thomas
Wes Welker
Emmanuel Sanders
Andre Caldwell (up)
Cody Latimer (down)
Isaiah Burse

Tight End
Julius Thomas
Jacob Tamme
Virgil Green

Offensive Tackle
Ryan Clady
Chris Clark
Michael Schofield

Louis Vasquez
Orlando Franklin
Ben Garland (new)

Manny Ramirez
Will Montgomery

Defense (26)

Defensive Tackle
Sylvester Williams
Terrance Knighton
Marvin Austin
Kevin Vickerson (new)
Mitch Unrein

Defensive End
DeMarcus Ware
Malik Jackson
Derek Wolfe
Quanterus Smith

Von Miller
Danny Trevathan
Nate Irving
Lerentee McCray
Brandon Marshall
Steven Johnson
Lamin Barrow

Aqib Talib
Chris Harris Jr.
Bradley Roby (up)
Kayvon Webster (down)
Omar Bolden (down)

T.J. Ward
Rahim Moore
Quinton Carter (up)
David Bruton (down)
Duke Ihenacho

Special Teams (3)

K Matt Prater*
K Brandon McManus* (new)
P Britton Colquitt
LS Aaron Brewer
PR Isaiah Burse
KR Isaiah Burse (new)

*McManus will fill Prater's roster spot during his suspension

Practice Squad (10)

C Matt Paradis
CB Louis Young
TE Cameron Morrah (new)***
TE Gerrell Robinson
LB Corey Nelson
LB Shaquil Barrett
RB C.J. Anderson (new)
OT Vinston Painter
WR Bernie Fowler
S John Boyett
DE Kenny Anunike**

**Injury status unknown (elbow strain), but I'm not going to assume IR for Anunike

***Morrah not eligible for PS (via)