clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Broncos 2014 practice squad eligibility explained

There are now 10 players who can make it on the practice squad, and two of them enjoy an important eligibility exception.

Matthew Emmons-USA TODAY Sports

Under the NFL's new practice squad eligibility rules, Derek Wolfe is technically practice squad eligible. So is Montee Ball.

So is Brock Osweiler.

Mindblowing, right?

Until 2014, practice squads were restricted to only players who had been active less than nine games in the NFL. That is still true for the vast majority of the practice squad, but two players can enjoy an exception. From the NFL statement last week (emphasis added):

Each club will be permitted to sign a maximum of two Practice Squad players who have earned no more than two accrued seasons of free agency credit. Absent this exception, a player who has earned one or more accrued seasons would not be eligible for a Practice Squad unless the player spent fewer than nine games on a club's 46-player active list in each of his accrued seasons.

That means every third-year player (or less) in the NFL is practice squad eligible. Robert Griffin III and Andrew Luck are practice squad eligible.

However, it's important to emphasize that this is only for up to two players per team. The rest must qualify under the rules as they existed before.

Here are all the players the Broncos waived since last week who are practice squad eligible, along with their experience heading into 2014 (for example, Duke Ihenacho has accrued two seasons, therefore he is entering his third year and is listed a 3). Generally rookies and first-year players will be fully practice squad eligible, while others may only be eligible as one of the two exceptions.

  • RB Brennan Clay (R)
  • WR Greg Hardin (R)
  • LB Jerrell Harris (1)
  • S Charles Mitchell (2)
  • DT Will Pericak (1)
  • QB Bryn Renner (R)
  • DE Chase Vaughn (R)
  • RB Jerodis Williams (1)
  • WR Greg Wilson (1)
  • TE James Konz (3)
  • LB Shaquil Barrett (R)
  • RB Kapri Bibbs (R)
  • S John Boyett (1)
  • QB Zac Dysert (2)
  • LB L.J. Fort (2)
  • WR Bennie Fowler (R)
  • S Duke Ihenacho (3)
  • G Ryan Miller (2)
  • T Vinston Painter (2)
  • WR Nathan Palmer (2)
  • C Matt Paradis (R)
  • TE Gerell Robinson (1)
  • CB Jordan Sullen (R)
  • CB Louis Young (R)