clock menu more-arrow no yes

Filed under:

Terrell Davis and John Lynch among 15 modern-era finalists for 2015 NFL Hall of Fame class

New, comments

Terrell Davis may finally be heading to the Hall of Fame.

Jamie Squire/Getty Images

Two former Broncos players — running back Terrell Davis and safety John Lynch — are among fifteen modern-era finalists for the 2015 Pro Football Hall of Fame class, the league announced Thursday.

Davis' HOF credentials have been often-discussed on MHR (here's an in-depth look at why he is deserving). Davis is a member of the 2,000-yard club, won a pair of Super Bowls, owns league MVP and Super Bowl MVP awards, and rushed for 100 yards in seven of his eight career playoff games.

Davis entered the NFL in 1995 and went on to spend eight seasons with the Broncos. His career was cut short due to injury, but he was one of the most dominant players in the NFL in the late 1990s.

In December, Davis made a case for his HOF eligibility in an exclusive interview with MHR's Bronco Mike.

"If you look at my career there's nothing else I could have accomplished," Davis said. "Look at my numbers, I think I averaged 142 yards per game in the postseason. Go back and look at the big moments, when the games were at stake my performances speak for themselves regular season and postseason. You have the tape, watch the tape--watch the games you'll see that I belong."

Davis joined Jerome Bettis as one of two RBs among the finalists.

Lynch spent the first eleven years of his career in Tampa Bay, where he won Super Bowl XXXVII as a key member of the Buccaneers' secondary. He later signed with the Broncos in 2004 and played the final four years of his career in Denver.

Lynch recorded over 1,000 tackles in his career and was named among the game's most-feared tackles of all-time by NFL Network in 2009. During his fifteen-year career, he earned nine Pro Bowl selections, including four with the Broncos.

A four-time AP All-Pro selection, Lynch is the only safety among the finalists.

Among the former Broncos that were not named finalists: former safety Steve Atwater and linebacker Karl Mecklenburg.

The 2015 Hall of Fame class will be announced on Saturday, Jan. 31.

The complete list of 2015 finalists can be viewed here.