clock menu more-arrow no yes

Filed under:

Broncos select David Bruton as choice for 'Walter Payton NFL Man of the Year' award

New, comments

Safety David Bruton Jr. has been selected by the team as its choice for the prestigious award honoring an NFL player whose leadership on and off the field is exemplary.

Doug Pensinger/Getty Images

Broncos' safety David Bruton, Jr. has been chosen by the team as its Walter Payton NFL Man of the Year award recipient.

This prestigious award, presented by Nationwide, recognizes a player for outstanding leadership both on the field and in the community.

Earlier this year, Bruton Jr. founded the David Bruton Jr. Foundation, which supports youth reading programs. Bruton's Books, the main program of his foundation, helps low-income children in grades K-3 become strong readers through tutoring and by providing books to underfunded schools, libraries and classrooms.

Bruton Jr. made a $26,000 personal donation in September - including a $10,000 allocation to AmeriCorps reading tutors - to build literacy programs in Colorado and increase the number of books in schools.

The third-year team captain also serves as the Western Dairy Fuel Up to Play 60 spokesperson, helping educate students on how to lead healthier lives. As part of his work with Fuel Up to Play 60, the seventh-year safety led an assembly at Englewood Middle School in October and discussed how a healthy and balanced diet can improve performance on the field and in the classroom.

In addition to his own charitable efforts, Bruton Jr. is a regular participant in team community events. He volunteers his time for Drive for Life, Hometown Huddle, Taste of the Broncos and events with the Boys & Girls Clubs of Metro Denver.

Bruton Jr. has also been a major contributor on the field both on defense and special teams this year. With 15 tackles, one sack and two interceptions (both of which were big-time takeaways at crucial moments), Bruton has established himself as a key cog in the defensive wheel for the Broncos.

Bruton Jr.'s selection as the Broncos' Walter Payton NFL Man of the Year award recipient will be recognized during Denver's home game against Oakland Dec. 13, and Nationwide will make a $10,000 donation to his selected charity. His name will be submitted to the NFL for consideration as the national award winner, which is announced during Super Bowl week.

The NFL's winner will receive a $50,000 donation to the organization of his choice, courtesy of the NFL Foundation and Nationwide ($25,000 from each). Three finalists will be announced in January and will receive $10,000 donations in their names while the other 29 nominees will receive $5,000 donations to their selected charities.

Previous Broncos nominees for the Walter Payton NFL Man of the Year award include:

GuardBen Garland (2014)

Linebacker Wesley Woodyard (2010-11, ‘13)

Guard Zane Beadles (2012)

Cornerback Champ Bailey (2008-09)

CornerbackDomonique Foxworth (2007)

Wide receiver Rod Smith (2004, '06)

Safety John Lynch (2005)

Linebacker Ian Gold (2003)

Wide receiver Ed McCaffrey (2002)

Quarterback John Elway (1992) is the only Broncos player to win the national award, which was first given in 1970 and renamed after the Chicago Bears' Pro Football Hall of Fame running back in 1999.

The Broncos also recognized four players as Denver Broncos Community Ambassador Award winners: defensive end Kenny Anunike, tight end Virgil Green, cornerback Chris Harris Jr. and linebacker Brandon Marshall.

Cornerback Taurean Nixon was named the Broncos' Community Rookie of the Year for his contributions to the community in his first NFL season.