clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

MHR Hall of Fame: Nominate your favorite 'old-timer' Bronco

From now on the "Early Era Broncos" will have separate nominations so we can better reflect their contributions to this winning franchise and honor the players and coaches who really got this team on a championship course.

Who are the greatest Denver Broncos players, coaches, executives, and fans to ever don the orange and blue?

You tell us.

In our third induction into the Mile High Report Hall of Fame, fans will once again choose the Broncos who will be enshrined in our virtual, hallowed halls.

But this year, there is an added bonus! No longer will you be forced to choose only four Broncos from all decades combined. Now we have two categories of Broncos inductees - Early Era (1960-1991) and Modern Era (1992-2016).

Who are the greatest Denver Broncos of all time?? You tell us!

This post is seeking nominations only for the Early Era Broncos - "players" (defined as any player, coach, executive or superfan) who were with the organization from the beginning to as late as 1991. The "player" must have finished his career at the Broncos prior to 1991 in order to be eligible.

The four Broncos chosen for the inaugural class - Floyd Little, Randy Gradishar, John Elway and Terrell Davis - and the four chosen last year - Karl Mecklenburg, Steve Atwater, Shannon Sharpe and Rod Smith - are no longer eligible (for obvious reasons)!

Beginning now, we are accepting nominations for the Early Era Broncos category only. Ideal candidates are those who had a real-life impact on the Denver Broncos organization. An ideal candidate is someone whose name is synonymous with the orange and blue, a name many members of Broncos Country would recognize.

Broncos who are eligible for the Pro Football Hall of Fame and Denver Broncos Ring of Fame would be examples of candidates for the Broncos category in the Mile High Report Hall of Fame.

Current active players and personnel associated with the team are not eligible. To be considered in this era of Broncos, a player must have been removed from association with the Denver Broncos Football Club (retired, cut, traded, fired, etc.) for at least 25 years.

How to nominate

In short, leave a comment!

You can nominate a member of this three-time Lombardi-winning franchise by leaving a comment below. There are three easy ways to do this:

  • In the subject line, write, "I nominate [Broncos name]" and in the body of your comment, note the reasoning behind your nomination.
  • Quickly leave your nomination in the subject line and then work on the reasoning for your nomination as a reply to your original comment.
  • Write a Fanpost - which is highly encouraged to get more visibility and support - and then link it to a comment in this post. For example, two years ago, a Fanpost nominating Randy Gradishar did an excellent job highlighting all of the linebacker's contributions and production while a Bronco.

Example nomination:

Comment subject: I nominate Tom Jackson.

Comment body (optional): One of only four Broncos to play in the team's first two Super Bowls - nine years apart - "TJ" was voted the team's most inspirational player six times by his teammates (based probably on his "It's all over fat man" comment!)

How to support a nomination

If you agree a nominated Bronco deserves to be in our Hall of Fame, at the very least, "rec it!" And then add any supporting evidence to his/her nomination with a replying comment.

How nominees advance

The top 15 candidates with the most recs (minimum 4 recs) will advance to the next phase of the selection process - fan voting - which will begin in mid-July.