clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Three Broncos players named to AP All-Pro first team

Chris Harris, Jr, Von Miller & Aqib Talib all first-team selectees.

AFC Championship - New England Patriots v Denver Broncos Photo by Dustin Bradford/Getty Images

All-Pro is a player that 50 AP Sportswriters have chosen as their best. This honor was started in the 1920’s and though it's changed in many ways, the premise is the same: each writer selects their best player. This year, they voted on best player at every position.

This would be the equivalent of making a fantasy team, but you didn’t have any others taking your picks away.

For the first time since 2012, the Denver Broncos have three first team selections. That year, Peyton Manning, Ryan Clady and Von Miller were all honored.

First timer, Chris Harris Jr. earned his selection by leading all cornerbacks with 28 stops and lead the league in only allowing 8.9 yards per reception. His all-pro selection also got him a very nice contractual bonus.

This was the first year allowing for a separate DB selection. Harris had two interceptions, a sack and 57 tackles. The only cornerback to be targeted 70+ times and allowed fewer than 400 yards. He was thrown at 84 times, allowed 399 Yards.

Denver Bronocs vs Jacksonville Jaguars Photo By John Leyba/The Denver Post via Getty Images

Von Miller received his third First Team All Pro honors. He was second in the league for sacks with 13.5. He had three forced fumbles and 78 tackles. Only three have had more sacks through age 27 than Von’s career 73.5 and that was Derrick Thomas, Bruce Smith and J.J. Watt. Impressive company! I'm guessing he'll be setting more records.

Denver Broncos vs. Kansas City Chiefs, NFL Week 12 Photo by John Leyba/The Denver Post via Getty Images

Aqib Talib, a second time selection, didn’t allow a touchdown all season and gave up only 351 yards. He had 3 interceptions, including one pick six, 12 passes defended and 13 tackles. Quarterbacks who targeted his receiver only had a 49.5 rating. Call him a shut down nightmare and our dream machine.

Indianapolis Colts v Denver Broncos Photo by Dustin Bradford/Getty Images

Combined, Chris and Aqib only allowed two TD’s and 681 yards on 141 targets. They were also the only CB duo from any team to be selected in its history. No Fly Zone, indeed!

Von Miller got 47 of 50 votes for 1st-team All-Pro. Aqib Talib got 28, most among CBs. Chris Harris, 18. Darian Stewart also got a vote.

First Team Offense

Quarterback: Matt Ryan, Atlanta

Running Back: Ezekiel Elliott, Dallas

Flex: David Johnson, Arizona

Tight End: Travis Kelce, Kansas City

Wide Receivers: Antonio Brown, Pittsburgh; Julio Jones, Atlanta

Left Tackle : Tyron Smith, Dallas

Right Tackle: Jack Conklin, Tennessee

Left Guard: Kelechi Osemele, Oakland

Right Guard: Zack Martin, Dallas

Center: Travis Frederick, Dallas

First Team Defense

Edge Rushers: Khalil Mack, Oakland; Vic Beasley Jr., Atlanta

Interior Linemen: Aaron Donald, Los Angeles; Damon Harrison, New York Giants

Linebackers: Von Miller, Denver; Bobby Wagner, Seattle; Sean Lee, Dallas

Cornerbacks: Aqib Talib, Denver; Marcus Peters, Kansas City

Safeties: Landon Collins, New York Giants; Eric Berry, Kansas City

Defensive Back: Chris Harris Jr., Denver

First Team Special Teams

Placekicker: Justin Tucker, Baltimore

Punter: Johnny Hekker, Los Angeles

Kick Returner: Cordarrelle Patterson, Minnesota

Punt Returner: Tyreek Hill, Kansas City

Special Teamer: Matthew Slater, New England

Second Team Offense

Quarterback: Tom Brady, New England

Running Back: David Johnson, Arizona

Flex: Le'Veon Bell, Pittsburgh

Tight End: Greg Olsen, Carolina

Wide Receivers: Odell Beckham Jr., New York Giants; Mike Evans, Tampa Bay

Left Tackle: David Bakhtiari, Green Bay

Right Tackle: Mitchell Schwartz, Kansas City, and Marcus Cannon, New England

Left Guard: Marshal Yanda, Baltimore

Right Guard: David DeCastro, Pittsburgh

Center: Alex Mack, Atlanta

Second Team Defense

Edge Rushers: Jadeveon Clowney, Houston; Cameron Wake, Miami, Olivier Vernon, New York Giants, and Brandon Graham, Philadelphia

Interior Linemen: Ndamukong Suh, Miami; Calais Campbell, Arizona, and Gerald McCoy, Tampa Bay

Linebackers: Lorenzo Alexander, Buffalo; Luke Kuechly, Carolina; Lavonte David, Tampa Bay, C.J. Mosley, Baltimore, Zach Brown, Buffalo, Zachary Orr, Baltimore, Alec Ogletree, Los Angeles, Dont'a Hightower, New England, Whitney Mercilus, Houston, and Bernardick McKinney, Houston

Cornerbacks: Janoris Jenkins, New York Giants; Casey Hayward, San Diego, and Malcolm Butler, New England

Safeties: Ha Ha Clinton-Dix, Green Bay; Devin McCourty, New England.

Defensive Back: Dominique Rodgers-Cromartie, New York Giants

Second Team Special Teams

Placekicker: None.

Punter: Marquette King, Oakland

Kick Returner: Tyler Lockett, Seattle

Punt Returner: None.

Special Teamer: Nate Ebner, New England