clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Let’s nominate those modern-era Broncos for MHR HOF, shall we?

New England Patriots v Denver Broncos Photo by Doug Pensinger/Getty Images

OK, Broncos Country, now we are ready to pick our favorites of the best Broncos (players, coaches, execs) after 1992. This only gets tougher!

Will it be Al Wilson’s year, maybe? Gary Zimmerman? John Mobley?


Let’s go with “Shasta” and see which players YOU think are deserving!

Current active players and personnel associated with the team are not eligible (sorry, Peyton and Champ still have to wait a bit). A player/coach/exec must be removed from the Broncos for at least four years in order to be eligible.

And the players already selected are not eligible either: John Elway, Terrell Davis, Karl Mecklenburg, Steve Atwater, Shannon Sharpe, Rod Smith, Tom Nalen, Dennis Smith, Eddie McCaffrey and Mike Shanahan - are no longer eligible (for obvious reasons)!

How to nominate

In short, leave a comment!

You can nominate a member of this three-time Lombardi-winning franchise by leaving a comment below. There are three easy ways to do this:

  • In the subject line, write, "I nominate [Broncos name]" and in the body of your comment, note the reasoning behind your nomination.
  • Quickly leave your nomination in the subject line and then work on the reasoning for your nomination as a reply to your original comment.
  • Write a Fanpost - which is highly encouraged to get more visibility and support - and then link it in a reply to a comment in this post. For example, this Fanpost nominating Randy Gradishar did an excellent job highlighting all of the linebacker's contributions and production while a Bronco.

Example nomination:

Comment subject: I nominate John Mobley.

Comment body (optional): Because without his pass-defense of Brett Favre’s 4th-and-7 pass in Super Bowl 32, it is highly possible John Elway and the Broncos went home with another loss.

How to support a nomination

If you agree a nominated Bronco deserves to be in our Hall of Fame, REC IT!! And then add any supporting evidence to his/her nomination in a replying comment.

How nominees advance

The top candidates with the most recs (minimum 4 recs) will advance to the next phase of the selection process - fan voting - which will begin before preseason!


For the astute reader, who remembers which player docllv named her black Labrador after in 1998?

This poll is closed

  • 7%
    John Elway
    (7 votes)
  • 23%
    Terrell Davis
    (21 votes)
  • 21%
    Eddie Mac
    (19 votes)
  • 21%
    John Mobley
    (19 votes)
  • 12%
    Steve Atwater
    (11 votes)
  • 12%
    Byron Chamberlain
    (11 votes)
88 votes total Vote Now