clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Chris Harris Jr. receives Darrent Williams Good Guy Award

The 2018 Darrent Williams Good Guy Award goes to Chris Harris Jr. He’ll be presented with the award on Friday.

NFL: Los Angeles Rams at Denver Broncos Ron Chenoy-USA TODAY Sports

Chris Harris Jr. will be presented the 12th Annual Darrent Williams Good Guy Award by the Denver Broncos. The local media selects players for this award every year in honor of former Broncos cornerback Darrent Williams, who passed away on January 1, 2007. The award is given annually to the Bronco who best exemplifies Williams’ enthusiasm, cooperation and honesty while dealing with members of the press.

“Chris was consistently praised for his professionalism, accountability and his willingness to provide clear, honest answers to the questions he was asked and he did so after wins, losses and in the days in between,” ESPN’s Jeff Legwold said. “This is the fifth time a defensive back has won the award, the second time Chris has won the award, and there may be no better measures of at least part of the legacy Darrent left behind.”

Harris is the only player to receive this award twice as he was also recognized in 2013. Other players who received significant consideration for this year’s honor include linebackers Todd Davis, Brandon Marshall and Von Miller, along with kicker Brandon McManus, nose tackle Domata Peko Sr. and safety Justin Simmons.

Despite being officially moved to injured reserve this week, Harris had been enjoying one of his best seasons as a professional while keeping an upbeat and positive attitude despite the mounting losses. His leadership and drive to be successful is one of the foundations this team is built around.

It is that positive mentality that led to the local media members honoring him for this season with this prestigious award.

All Ready!!!

Darrent Williams Good Guy Award Winners

  • 2007 - John Lynch
  • 2008 - Ebenezer Ekuban
  • 2009 - Elvis Dumervil
  • 2010 - Mario Haggan
  • 2011 - Champ Bailey
  • 2012 - Wesley Woodyard
  • 2013 - Chris Harris Jr.
  • 2014 - Terrance Knighton
  • 2015 - Brandon Marshall
  • 2016 - DeMarcus Ware
  • 2017 - Justin Simmons
  • 2018 - Chris Harris Jr.