clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Jeff Heuerman receives Broncos 2018 Ed Block Courage Award

Denver Broncos tight end Jeff Heuerman has been named the 2018 Ed Block Courage Award recipient.

NFL: Houston Texans at Denver Broncos Isaiah J. Downing-USA TODAY Sports

The Denver Broncos announced on Friday that tight end Jeff Heuerman would be their 2018 Ed Block Courage Award winner.

According to the Broncos press release, the award is given to a player voted on by his own teammates for his hard work and dedication fighting through injury.

Each year, the Ed Block Courage Award honors players who exemplify commitments to the principles of sportsmanship and courage. Heuerman was selected for the award by his teammates for his toughness in overcoming injuries while remaining team focused and passionate about the game.

Heuerman, a fourth-year player, has battled through a variety of injuries since coming into the league. He seemed to have emerged as a legitimate pass catching threat this season and finished with 31 receptions for 281 yards and two touchdowns before suffering fractured ribs and a bruised lung against the Pittsburgh Steelers in Week 12 that ended his season.

Ed Block Courage Award recipients from each team will be recognized for their achievement at the Renaissance Hotel-Inner Harbor in Baltimore on Saturday, March 23, 2019.

Past Broncos’ Ed Block Courage Award Recipients

1984: Keith Bishop

1985: Rulon Jones

1986: Rubin Carter

1987: Dennis Smith

1988: Gerald Wilhite

1989: Rick Dennison

1990: Keith Kartz

1991: John Elway

1992: Dennis Smith

1993: Simon Fletcher

1994: Rondel Jones

1995: Dave Wyman

1996: Ed McCaffrey

1997: Steve Atwater

1998: Tony Jones

1999: Rod Smith

2000: John Mobley

2001: Terrell Davis

2002: John Mobley

2003: Tom Nalen

2004: Dan Neil

2005: Dwayne Carswell

2006: Louis Green

2007: John Engelberger

2008: Marquand Manuel

2009: Brian Dawkins

2010: Ryan Clady

2011: Elvis Dumervil

2012: Chris Kuper

2013: Knowshon Moreno

2014: Chris Harris Jr.

2015: Brandon Marshall/Danny Trevathan

2016: Matt Paradis

2017: Todd Davis

2018: Jeff Heuerman