clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Von Miller only Bronco to make 2020 Pro Bowl as starter

Kareem Jackson, Courtland Sutton and Dionte Spencer are named as alternates.

Denver Broncos v Kansas City Chiefs Photo by David Eulitt/Getty Images

Von Miller was named to the 2020 Pro Bowl for his sixth consecutive season and eighth total.

In his 13 starts this season, Miller is tied for the team lead with seven sacks. Against the Chiefs, Miller recorded his 105th career sack, putting him at 27th on the NFL’s all-time list.

Miller has also recorded 40 tackles (28 solo), and his 18 quarterback hurries rank eighth in the NFL despite missing Week 13 for an MCL sprain.

Miller’s eight Pro Bowl appearances put him with Hall-of-Fame cornerback Champ Bailey and Ring of Fame safety Steve Atwater for second-most in team history. Miller is just the fourth Bronco to be selected to eight Pro Bowls.

As you probably would guess, John Elway leads the Broncos for most Pro Bowls with nine appearances. Hall-of-Fame tight end Shannon Sharpe is third with seven Pro Bowls.

The eight appearances will also tie Miller with cornerback Patrick Peterson and defensive tackle Geno Atkins for most appearances among active players in the NFL.

Broncos’ safety Kareem Jackson, returner Diontae Spencer and wide receiver Courtland Sutton were also named as Pro Bowl alternates. Despite Jackson’s two-game suspension announced today, he would be eligible to play if the alternate were needed.

Although all four are deserving of the Pro Bowl, the one glaring omission is Justin Simmons, the Broncos’ free safety who has certainly had a Pro Bowl-worthy season with four interceptions and 14 passes defensed.

The Pro Bowl will be played Jan. 26 at Camping World Stadium in Orlando at 1 p.m. Mile High time.