clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Champ Bailey elected to the Broncos Ring of Fame

The Broncos’ legendary cornerback will enter both the Hall of Fame and the Ring of Fame in his first year of eligibility.

Champ Bailey gathered many accolades in his career, and today he’s gathering one more. The first-ballot Hall of Fame cornerback will also be inducted into the Denver Broncos Ring of Fame, as first reported by Dave Logan on KOA.

“It comes as no surprise that Champ has been voted into the Broncos’ Ring of Fame in his first year of eligibility,” Broncos President & CEO Joe Ellis said. “Not only did he make so many incredible plays as a Bronco, but the consistency and leadership he brought to this organization for 10 seasons as a perennial All-Pro was second-to-none. To see the way Champ’s career has been appreciated over the last four months—first by the Pro Football Hall of Fame and now as our newest Ring of Famer—is very special for us. We congratulate Champ on this well-deserved honor and look forward to celebrating everything he’s meant to the Broncos in October.”

Bailey’s induction will end a short gap in the slow expansion of the Ring of Fame. No one was added to the exclusive group in 2018 after six consecutive years of additions. And it’s fitting that he’s going in alone- there’s no other player of his caliber currently eligible to be added.

In that vein, the first-ballot Hall of Famer will hold a unique distinction within the Ring of Fame per Nicki Jhabvala: No other member has been inducted in the same year as their Hall of Fame induction.

Drafted by the Redskins in 1999, traded to Denver in 2004, and with a career that spanned from the final days of John Elway’s career all the way to sharing a locker room with Peyton Manning for two seasons, Bailey is going down as one of the greatest defensive players in Denver Broncos history. His 34 interceptions in orange & blue are the 4th most by a player in franchise history, and his 122 passes defensed is far and away the most by a Bronco. For perspective his protege, Chris Harris, has the 2nd most pass defenses by a Bronco with 80. And Champ’s 522 career tackles as a Bronco are also the 10th most in club history.

Champ Bailey was a prototype for the elite, lock-down corner of the modern NFL, a perennial All-Pro, and a fan favorite in Broncos Country. It’s great to see the team honor his tireless excellence and dedication to the Broncos and the fans. Congrats, Champ!

Denver Broncos Ring of Fame

Name Pos. Yrs. w/Broncos Year Inducted
Name Pos. Yrs. w/Broncos Year Inducted
Champ Bailey CB 2004-13 2019
Red Miller Coach 1977-80 2017
Jason Elam K 1993-2007 2016
Simon Fletcher LB 1985-95 2016
John Lynch S 2004-07 2016
Pat Bowlen Owner 1984-pres. 2015
Dan Reeves Coach 1981-92 2014
Rick Upchurch WR 1975-83 2014
Gene Mingo HB/K 1960-64 2014
Tom Nalen C 1994-2008 2013
Rod Smith WR 1994-2007 2012
Shannon Sharpe TE 1990-99, 2002-03 2009
Terrell Davis RB 1995-2002 2007
Steve Atwater S 1989-98 2005
Gary Zimmerman T 1993-97 2003
Karl Mecklenburg LB 1983-94 2001
Dennis Smith S 1981-94 2001
John Elway QB 1983-98 1999
Louis Wright CB 1975-86 1993
Tom Jackson LB 1973-86 1992
Randy Gradishar LB 1974-83 1989
Craig Morton QB 1977-82 1988
Haven Moses WR 1972-81 1988
Jim Turner K 1971-79 1988
Billy Thompson S 1969-81 1987
Charley Johnson QB 1972-75 1986
Paul Smith DT 1968-78 1986
Frank Tripucka QB 1960-63 1986
Gerald H. Phipps Owner 1961-81 1985
Austin “Goose” Gonsoulin S 1960-66 1984
Rich Jackson DE 1967-72 1984
Floyd Little RB 1967-75 1984
Lionel Taylor WR 1960-66 1984