clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Javonte Williams obvious choice for Broncos’ 2023 Block of Courage Award winner

Surprised? We think not! RB Javonte Williams is being recognized for his difficult but successful journey back from a season-ending injury last year.

NFL: Denver Broncos at Houston Texans Thomas Shea-USA TODAY Sports

Javonte Williams has officially been named the Broncos’ 2023 Block of Courage Award winner.

This distinction was chosen by his teammates, noting Williams’ unwavering dedication to recovery after last year’s season-ending injury.

It was a long road before the running back could play side-by-side with the Broncos again, but he spent that time fully committed to making his 2023 comeback. Side note: he also launched a charitable foundation, which broke ground during his recovery process.

Since his return, Williams has rushed for 584 yards in 153 rushing attempts and caught another 155 yards - for a combined 739 rushing and receiving) over 11 games — 10 of which he started.

Williams said he considers the honor more of a team award than an individual one.

“Just hearing the players and everybody else talk about me and congratulate me in the locker room, it just showed that [they] might not have been with me the whole time, but [they were] keeping an eye out and just watching everything that was going on,” Williams said. “Just being able to come back and help my guys in any way that I can on the field is a good thing.”

Offensive Coordinator Joe Lombardi said he has been impressed by Williams’ commitment to rehabbing an injury that is supposed to take much longer to get back to 100% - if at all.

“History tells you that it’s a two-year injury. He’s defied that. He just kind of goes about his business, he doesn’t talk a lot, and he’s even better on Sunday than what you see in practice,” Lombardi said. “[I’m] just super impressed with him, the way he’s come back from his injury and even if I didn’t know about that, just the way he handles his business. He’s a true pro.”

Williams joins the ranks of current teammates WR Courtland Sutton and WR KJ Hamler, who were nominated in 2021 and 2022, respectively. Other past recipients of this award include but are not limited to John Elway (1991), Steve Atwater (1997), and Terrell Davis (2001).

Congratulations and welcome back, Javonte!